A.R. Hasan and C.S. Kabir
175 pp.; Softcover
ISBN: 978-1-55563-094-2


This book is no longer available.  
Fluid Flow and Heat Transfer in Wellbores, Second Edition
is now available. 

Production volumes can be severely restricted by issues relating to fluid flow and heat transfer. This book is a must for anyone needing to understand these common problems and practical approaches to solving them. The first five chapters establish the theoretical framework of fluid and heat-flow issues, followed by five chapters applying the principles to practical problem solving.

A.R. Hasan is currently working as a professor at Texas A&M University, after serving as a Professor in chemical engineering at the University of Minnesota, Duluth, from 2002-2011. He has established a world-class research program in wellbore heat transfer and fluid flow, publishing a definitive book on the subject in 2002. Hasan’s current interests include heat transfer models for subsea completion in deep water settings; modeling transient flow of heat, mass, and momentum in wellbores; analysis of warmback data to improve DTS visualization and interpretation, and alternative energy sources such as metal hydrides for energy storage and biodesels. He earned a BS in chemical engineering in 1972 from the University of Eng. And Tech. in Dhaka, Bangladesh, a MS in chemical engineering in 1975 and a PhD in chemical engineering in 1979 both from the University of Waterloo in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. 

Shah Kabir is a global reservoir engineering advisor at Hess Corporation in Houston. His experience spans more than 30 years in the areas of transient-pressure testing, fluid- and heat-flow modeling in wellbores, and reservoir engineering. Kabir coauthored the 2002 SPE book Fluid Flow and Heat Transfer in Wellbores and contributed to the 2009 SPE monograph Transient Well Testing. He holds a master’s degree in chemical engineering from the University of Calgary. Kabir has served on various SPE committees, including the editorial review committees for SPE Production & Facilities, SPE Reservoir Evaluation & Engineering, and SPE Journal. He was a 2006–2007 SPE Distinguished Lecturer and became a Distinguished Member in 2007, and he received the 2010 Reservoir Description and Dynamics Award.